Life/Re-doing ADF stuff/30 Days of Paganism

So. I’ve been working through ADF’s ‘Wheel of the Year’ book, which takes you through the Dedicant Path a week at a time – but I’ve been quite scrappy about some weeks. I think I need to go back over the weeks I didn’t do in enough depth. And also start the five months of meditation in earnest – as near to daily meditation as I can get.

My aim for this week is to do the First Oath. ADF suggests (but does not require) that dedicants might want to start their path with an oath – nothing big, and nothing involving dedicating your entire life to a path or deities you aren’t sure about yet, but a kind of stated intention to take the path seriously. When I started, I sort of didn’t get round to this, so it never happened. I’ve been doing the DP for nearly six months now (seriously, where does the time go?!), but I’m going to go back to this and actually do the First Oath. That might help me take things more slowly and comprehensively. Then next week I’ll start blogging virtues and other things I’ve haven’t done properly yet. Look! I said it to all my (three) readers! That usually helps me get things done.

I’m also planning on doing at least some of the 30 Days of Paganism meme – probably a bit modified. The list is below. I probably won’t be able to do 30 consecutive days, but I will try to write about most of these things.

30 Days of Paganism
1. Beliefs – Why Paganism?
2. Beliefs – Cosmology
3. Beliefs – Deities
4. Beliefs – Birth, death and rebirth
5. Beliefs – Magic, spellcraft, mysticism etc
6. Beliefs – The power of prayer/reciprocity
7. Beliefs – Patronage and other deeper relationships
8. Beliefs – Holidays
9. Deity Gender [This should be fun…!]
10. Patrons [I don’t subscribe to the idea of patron deities – so I’ll go with ‘household deities’]
11. Pantheon – For these posts, pick a deity or speak of elements of the
pantheon, such as tribes or nature spirits, etc.
12. Pantheon
13. Pantheon
14. Pantheon
15. Pantheon (a different view) [Will probably talk about ‘other’ deities here]
16. The meaning of terms like “earth-based” and what they mean to this path
17. My ways of worship
18. Community
19. Paganism and my family/friends
20. Paganism and my relationship
21. Other paths I’ve explored
22. Paganism and major life events
23. Ethics
24. Personal aesthetics with magic and ritual
25. Priest? Clergy? One or both? Neither?
26. Any ‘secular’ pastimes with religious significance, and why
27. How your faith has helped you in difficult times
28. One misconception about Paganism you’d like to clear up
29. The future of Paganism
30. Places of spiritual significance

And in not-specifically-Pagan news…

– SJ built me an altar cabinet. (OK, that’s fairly Pagan.) It’s just an Ikea bookshelf with doors on the front, but it means I can keep altar things safe and that I have much more space. First thing I’m going to do is give the top cupboard to the saints who are either my patrons of a kind, or who consistently help me with magic. I feel like they deserve more than being shoved in a corner between my ancestor shrine and my stone collection. I’m now looking for a pretty little wheel for St Catherine, maybe an icon of Holy Sophia, and something bee-related for St Gobnait (who already has her little bottle of well water). Photos of the saints’ area will follow when I have some of those pretties.

Image

Cabinet – closed

Image

One space inside the cabinet (there’s another above, and storage below)

Above: My new altar space. (SJ has already come in and asked “But where do your ancestors go…?” Heh.)

– Life. Life is a little bit stressful. Final diagnostic appointment came and went, re: Asperger’s, and it was something of a mixed bag. I’m relieved to have the diagnosis at last (only took 35 years), but sad. The psychiatrist said that I (and SJ) would have to accept that this may be as good at things get for me. Which I have complicated feelings about. SJ and I are going to set up a video-blog about the fun of adult-diagnosed Asperger’s and related things (since we are a team). I’ll link to it here, when we get it done. Also, she was the best psychiatrist I’ve *ever* met and I’ll be writing to the hospital to say thank you. (I do enough complaining about bad service from medical professionals. I should thank the good ones.)

– I am apparently incapable of working. Big block in my head on getting anything done. Only about a month and we’re going on honeymoon. I shall keep focusing on how I do not want to have to take work to America, which might help. Motivation needed, though!

Expect a few more general, think-y posts from me to start arriving. Hopefully short ones.

7 thoughts on “Life/Re-doing ADF stuff/30 Days of Paganism

  1. I will be fascinated to read your 30 days of Paganism posts. As a solitary practitioner who has clawed her way through many twists and turns because hers is the way less travelled (and frankly, I’m not surprised – blood, tears and screams were payment to pass many, many times) I’m always intrigued by other’s practices and beliefs.

    As for your Asperger’s diagnosis – as the mum of a young boy on the spectrum, I’ve realised I show many if the traits myself. I hope I’m a good enough parent to give him what he needs to avoid too much trauma. It’s certainly allowed me to stop beating myself up all the time for not being like “everyone else”!

    (And I’m sure you’ve got way more than three readers!)

  2. That altar looks awesome!

    I never did take the First Oath when I was doing my ADF rounds; I wonder if it would have helped me focus more? It sounds like it might be helpful for you, though, so good luck. I definitely will look forward to seeing your thoughts on the 30 day meme even if they’re not daily.

  3. Altars, i have always believed that they are not to much what is on them in a is this the correct correspondence kinda way but more in a speaks to you spiritually kinda way. i always feel a clam connectedness to the divine when i am standing in front of my altar. mine, and i have several, have been built over time with new additions and old things falling away depending on what, how i feel or season to a degree. the things that are on my altar are things that have significant meaning to me, rocks that i have found, been given or brought. leaves i pick up this autumn,

    and my ancestor altar such that it is currently is pictures on a wall of said ancestors..

    *ponders altars and sacred places*

    also yay honeymoon.. *skips about*

  4. Best of luck with the 30 days, and just in case you are to busy to come online, what with life and all, set up a word document and type everything on there, until you know you have time to post it, it will cut down on your stress levels a little. As long as you do it, you only need to blog once with a copy and paste. Just an idea for you.

    Wow you have at least 4 readers, more than you thought lol.

  5. I never did a First Oath either – I started in on the DP for about a month before I got the Wheel of the Year book, and I’ve generally considered it more of … guidelines (in the pirate code sort of way). I finished all my virtues already, and all of my book reviews as well, even though I’m only just finished with my 5th high day. I figure I’ll go as inspiration strikes, use the exercises to help jump start my essays, and not worry too much about whether I follow it “to the letter” or not. Since my energy levels wax and wane, that approach has worked well for me!

    I also am looking forward to your 30 days of paganism. Though I would ask, since I read your post in a feed reader, if you would change your blog feed settings to post full feeds instead of just blurbs? I have to click through to your site, and that’s something I don’t like to do a lot at work, which is when I have most of my blogging time.

    • I like your approach to the ‘Wheel of the Year’ book as the pirates’ code :D

      Thanks for reading the blog! I’m sorry that I sometimes have to put cuts in my posts that mean you have to click through – I don’t do it all the tone, though. But yes, I will change the feed settings so you can see the whole post in a reader. (I set it up that way for the purpose of statistics – but I’m over it!)

      • Yay! Thank you! I promise I’ll still click through to leave comments :) I don’t’ mind doing that occasionally, but I try not to open too many things while I’m at work, and I often leave my commenting until I get home, to avoid dealing with IT spying! The occasional stuff “behind a cut” is always Ok though.

Comments are closed.