31 Days of Offerings

The 31 Days blog project is simple. You blog about one topic for 31 days. The aim is that you explore it in detail, looking at lots of aspects of the topic. I’ve decided to link mine with a practice, and write about all the permutations and aspects of that practice that emerge. And so…

31 Days of Offerings(1)

Image: rock at Allihies, associated with the Children of Lir. Offerings of pennies cover it. Words written over it: “31 Days of Offerings”.

…31 Days of Offerings.

Day 1: Showing Up Anyway
Day 2: What’s the Offering?
Day 3: Offerings in Exchange
Day 4 & 5: Offering Too Much
Days 6-11: Simple Steps Forward
Days 12-14: Reflections on Daily Religion and Being Too Many Priests
Day 15: Wise Justice and the Authentic Self

My expectation is that these offerings will be focused around Cailleach Bhearra. However, what she wants as offerings is a complex matter, so I already know that it won’t stay simply a ‘put an apple on the altar’ thing – although I’ll start there. But I suspect offerings to other entities will also pop up during the course of the month.

My aim is to explore the concept of ‘offerings’ in detail. What are offerings – both in Gaelic polytheism and in modern druidry? What can come under the banner of ‘offerings’? What do the gods and spirits really want from us?

See you on the 1st of October!

[If you want to find out more about the Mythical Children of Lir Site at Allihies, this blog is a wonderful resource for all things Beara Peninsula!]

2 thoughts on “31 Days of Offerings

  1. Awesome! I think the concept and practice of offerings is a vitally important one. I often describe my practices to other people in those terms, “I make offerings to [so-and-so].” It’s not the whole picture, of course, but it’s foundational.

Comments are closed.