31 Days of Offerings – Day 4 & 5: Offering Too Much

31 Days of Offerings(1)

It is possible to offer too much. Sometimes I give more of myself than I can sustain for very long. Eventually, my life spirals out of control and I stop doing anything useful, either for others, or for me.

On Sunday I made no offerings. I was a bit too busy being in that state of intense anxiety that means actual human functioning is a bit out of the question. At the end of a week where I’d been headed in that direction for days.

On Monday I decided to begin again at the beginning.

Photo: newly-organised shrine

Photo: newly-organised shrine

New shrine cloth. A bit of reorganisation of some items. Putting up some pictures I got in the Beara Peninsula this summer, but hadn’t done anything with yet. (I still need to get them framed, but it’s a start.) Moving some things out of focus, other things into the centre.

Settling in for the long dark.

And in the centre of the storm, an eye of perfect calm. Such an incredible contrast of peace… from a many-layered chaotic goddess.

It’s my experience that Cailleach Bhearra doesn’t much care about her shrine – she has the mountains as her playground and a sea-god for a husband, after all. The shrine is, really, for me – a place where I want to stop and meet her. It needs to be a little wild, but not so out of control that my human spirit is too afraid to stop there a while and meet with her wild soul.

A bit like with my life, really.

7 thoughts on “31 Days of Offerings – Day 4 & 5: Offering Too Much

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Offerings | Treasure in Barren Places

  2. I understand, the shrine/altar is a place for human focus. I use mine as a space to gather my scattered attention so I can calm my busy mind. In so doing contemplation and engagement can occur in a specific where, one I feel totally safe to let go, which I don’t alone out of doors very often. The invitation is there for the gods to be there if they chose, knowing that when I can’t get out we can still have some sort of encounter with each other.

Comments are closed.