31 Days of Offerings – Days 20-22: Attack of the Migraines

So I have totally failed to do any extended offerings for the past few days. I’ve been attempting to maintain my very brief offerings and practice – a hearth lantern lit with a prayer for protection for my house, candlelight for Beara and Duibhne, little offerings to the Good Folk.

And I’ve had one slightly more intense encounter with a goddess in which I whined about no one knowing her properly… which I’ll get to soon.

Mostly, though, I’ve been busy warring with the migraines all day, and too tired to do anything at night. I’ve been plagued with episodes of chronic daily migraine for years now. Just when I get them under control with a new medication for a few months, the medication stops working, and round I go again with daily torture for a few weeks (longer if I’m unlucky). I can’t work, write or think. It completely sucks.

Such is the world in which we live, though. We’re privileged to be human, to be creatures of the earth. I don’t hold to all that ‘spiritual being having a human experience’ stuff. I rather think ‘spiritual’ is a Cartesian dualistic social construction we created in order to pretend that one part of our lives was special but the rest of it wasn’t. While that might have made the special stuff seem extra-special, it did nothing for the valuing of the rest of our lives. I want to value every part of my messy, physical, real human life. 

Even the migraines.

(I think.)